Home Ask questions & get answers at AskTheScholar.com - answers posted daily
Ask questions & get answers at AskTheScholar.com - Answers posted daily
Home
Education
Courses
Youth Programs
Ask the Scholar
 Mailing List
mailing list
 Donations
donations


Famous Optical


About Us

The IIT is a non-profit, federally registered, educational institution.

The Institute was established in 1996 to:

  • Strengthen access to Islamic education
  • Promote scholarly research
  • Facilitate community outreach and interaction with other religious organizations and community groups
  • Consolidate the social fabric of the Community
  • Sustain Islamic work by encouraging and building endowments

The IIT's mission is to nurture and establish Islam as a living reality in the lives of Muslims and to enhance the Islamic identity in society at large.

The IIT's curriculum includes:

  • Islamic faith and jurisprudence
  • Fiqh
  • Qur'anic Studies
  • Islamic History
  • Arabic Language

 

Board of Directors (iitboard@islam.ca)

Brother Haniff Khan | haniff.khan@islamicinstitute.ca - Chairman

Brother Abderahmane Allalou | abdou.allalou@islamicinstitute.ca - Secretary

Shaikh Asad Yakob | asad.yakob@islamicinstitute.ca - Treasurer

Brother Irfan Khan | irfan.khan@islamicinstitute.ca - Director

Brother Hussein Siddiqui | hussain.siddiqui@islamicinstitute.ca - Assistant Treasurer

Brother Elias Karamitsos | elias@islamicinstitute.ca - Assistant Secretary

Brother Fareed Amin | fareed.amin@islamicinstitute.ca - Director

Brother Farhad Khadim | mohamed.khadim@islamicinstitute.ca - Director

Brother Safdar Alli | safdar.alli@islamicinstitute.ca - Director

Sister Yasmin Merchant | yasmin.merchant@islamicinstitute.ca - Director


 

History

The Islamic Institute of Toronto was established in 1996 to fill a void within the Muslim community. 

At that time, the IIT's model of Islamic education in a structured format was a novel idea. The IIT introduced semester-based courses in aqeedah, fiqh, Quran and hadith and has since benefited hundreds of students in their understanding and practise of Islam. The IIT's flagship program - the Saturday night tafseer program with Shaikh Abdool Hamid has been running since 1996.

The IIT's original board of directors consisted of Br. Muneeb Nasir (President), Br. Fareed Amin (secretary), Br. Farhad Khadim, (Vice President), Br. Haniff Khan and Br. Muhammed Haseeb Ali.

Shaikh Ahmad Kutty and Shaikh Abdool Hamid have served as the main lecturers since the inception of the IIT.

With interest in Islamic education rising, the IIT decided that it would embark on establishing a unique institution dedicated for the dissemination of Islamic knowledge. The IIT purchased 8 acres of land in North Eastern Toronto and is currently working on an ambitious project to establish an Islamic educational complex which, when completed will house the Islamic Institute, an Islamic High School and social and recreational facilities.

The IIT's vision is to establish a facility where the community can play, ponder and pray.


 

Mission

The mission of the IIT is to "nurture and establish Islam as a living reality in the lives of Muslims and to enhance the Islamic identity in the society at large."

The IIT's mission calls for a commitment based on a sincere desire to see positive change in the world around us. The IIT will work with various organisations and groups, Muslim or not, to promote tolerance, mutual understanding, social justice, civic responsibility and god-consciousness through the platform of education.